Allowing customer's cropping-what's your opinion?

2»

Comments

• sein_lingsein_ling Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
    edited September 11, 2016
    Andy wrote: »
    Thanks for the feedback! In the meantime, set your galleries with Proof Delay so that you can re-adjust the crops as you see fit.

I see this is an older discussion, but I'm just re-opening my store and was surprised to find that I have no control of the "crop".

Cropping is part of composition and the "art" of the image--control of that should rest with the artist (illustrators etc who also use Smugmug, not just photographers). Allowing the buyer to "crop" is violating the artist's image. If the buyer feels they must "crop", then I'm fine with them NOT buying my images.

As an artist, I cannot sell on Smugmug if the buyer has the ability to crop (and if Smugmug doesn't allow me to disable the option).

EVEN though the artist can use that proof-delay thing, the buyer expects that their "crop" will hold--and that's what they think they're buying. I am not going to re-crop everything by hand, and also risk having an angry buyer etc. What a complete hassle!

I'm completely dumbfounded that Smugmug will not let me, the artist, disable the crop-at-shopping-cart feature. Even though I love the Smugmug Pro features, I cannot sell on Smugmug until the "crop" issue is dealt with, and I may have to look elsewhere.

I'm very disappointed. Please redesign and put the "crop" back in control of the artists.
    --Shirley
  • leftquarkleftquark Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,784 Many Grins
    edited September 13, 2016