Options

Potential Client Request

Malial6Malial6 Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
Hi Everybody,
I'm a photographer with some experience in portraits, weddings and travel photography. I wouldn't consider myself an amateur, but not a Pro either, somewhere in between. I have charged for my work, but I always find it hard to price it. I have a potential client who reached out to me for a product photography job, specifically shooting hotel amenities, like small shampoo bottles and such. Which I'm really interested in getting into. I told him I didn't have much experience with product but that I would send him a portfolio with some of my work. I made a soft box at home and gathered my lighting equipment and shot some items I had at home that related to the product that he needs. I made a quick portfolio with those images and the work that I regularly do and sent it to him. He really liked what he saw and asked for pricing, so I came up with a pricing list, charging for a set up fee and then per image, depending on how many he wants. He then asked me if I could do sample shots using their product, asking if I could come to their office, or if it would be better to send the product to me. I am wondering if I should charge him for the sample shots too? I had thought about charging the set-up fee only, or if that seems a little too much for a sample shoot. Also does product photography usually work only with them sending you the product to your studio or does the photographer also travel to their offices to shoot?

Any advice will help! Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    Cygnus StudiosCygnus Studios Registered Users Posts: 2,294 Major grins
    edited February 7, 2017