Big or little when going to Switzerland?

gopher78gopher78 Registered Users Posts: 50 Big grins

I am taking a trip to Switzerland. I'm truly and amateur taking picks. I've found dragging a backpack with a 7D, Canon 100mm, EF 70-200 2.8, EF 4.5 100-400 and tamron 24 to 70 lens. It's a lot of weight. Thinking of just taking the 70-200 and 24-70 lens. I also have a Canon powershot Elph 360. Recommendations? My photography is normally setting up shop in a specific area or in the car traveling specifically looking for subject. So, my concern since it's my first time traveling to Switzerland is do I go heavy, or go light and just enjoy the nice scenery with the small powershot?

Comments

• denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Administrators Posts: 14,220 moderator

What is the focus of your trip? Is it photography or something else entirely?
    What type of photos do you expect to take? Landscape? People? Or?

Will you be happy with the point and shoot camera? I know if I was focusing on photography the elph would not make me happy - but that's me. Do you really need all 4 lenses for the 7D to meet your trip purpose? Would taking just the 70-200 and the 24-70 cover the type of photos you are likely to take?

• gopher78gopher78 Registered Users Posts: 50 Big grins

Thanks. I'm going with my daughter who will be working. I'm just bumming, but landscape will be focus. I do not need all the lenses and I think the ones you mention would be best bet. Just needed some confirmation.

• puzzledpaulpuzzledpaul Registered Users Posts: 1,621 Major grins
    edited February 26, 2017

The 2 lens setup already suggested sounds like a good compromise to me too - although, if me, I might consider adding a couple of other items - but only because I already have them :)
    A set of extension rings - for the 70 / 200, as this'd provide some close up capability lost by not taking the 100 macro - if you wanted to cut down even further on bulk / weight - then maybe just one of the 3?