To DSLR or not DSLR.

Cygnus StudiosCygnus Studios Registered Users Posts: 2,294 Major grins

I've been shooting with Nikon cameras for work more than 25 years now, but my D3 bodies are getting long in the tooth and they don't get used all that often for work these days.

Despite the desire that I've had for while now to get out and shoot just for the fun of it, that never seems to happen.

While my Mamiya bodies are stellar in the studio, they are certainly not the best for any fun shots that I may do if I ever find the time to go do something just for fun.

Some of the newer mirrorless medium formats are intriguing to me, especially the new Hasselblad X1D. I did a little testing with one while in NY a couple months back, but playing around with one for a few minutes even in the big camera store isn't enough time to really know if it could handle some fun shooting. The new Fuji medium format mirrorless (coming soon) could also be an interesting consideration.

Not sure that either the Hassy or the Fuji would be capable of fun shots, but it's been so long since I've done a just for fun shoot that I'm no longer sure what I would need in a fun camera. No medium format is fast, and you can forget about lower light situations, but these mirrorless ones are small and light to carry.

That's the conundrum, do I bite the bullet and pick up a D5 (just because I have so many lenses laying around) even though it will spend more time collecting dust than being used, or just forget about the dslr and move 100% into medium format and be done with it?

Steve

Website

Comments

• NikonsandVstromsNikonsandVstroms Registered Users Posts: 990 Major grins

Just out of curiosity why would you be going for the D5 over the D810? The latter seems closer to the X1D as a camera in both its' size and the priorities of its' design.

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,762 moderator

For fun stuff, family and local parks for example, I really like the APS-C bodies.