Are you self taught?

puzzledpaulpuzzledpaul Registered Users Posts: 1,621 Major grins

As the title suggests.
After reading the bio of an individual who says they're 'self taught' - and in essence, 'talks this up' to a large extent in their approach to photography - I wondered what % of DG 'togs are?
If so, do you think you've missed out on anything important?

pp

Comments

• RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,893 moderator
    edited April 25, 2017

I suppose I'd call myself "Dgrin taught," for better or for worse. I joined when I first took up photography as a hobby with a Canon point and shoot, and over the years I have learned quite a bit about technique, gear and processing here. While all of that has been enormously helpful, for the stuff I like to shoot the most important thing is seeing, and I'm not sure that can be taught. It can be learned with lots of practice, maybe. Feedback from other photographers helps to understand what works and what doesn't. But then, I don't consider myself a model for anybody--I was a hobbyist in the beginning and I'm a hobbyist today. I doubt that formal training would have made much of a difference for my purposes, though it might have made the learning faster. I enjoy the whole process, and that's the most important part.

• sarasphotossarasphotos Registered Users Posts: 3,822 Major grins
    edited April 25, 2017

I imagine a large percentage of us are self-taught. As a teen one of my dreams was to be a professional photographer but in the late 60's / early 70's there seemed to be too many unsurmountable obstacles to pursue that particular dream.

At 18 I finally got my first SLR and read a few books and learned what I could from other photographers. My pictures from those early days are certainly better than the Instamatic photos from others but often not much more than snapshots with a better than average camera.