Options

Artist asking if they can use my photos

TwinbeesTwinbees Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
I wasn't sure where else to post this so apologies in advance if this in the wrong place
For some time now I have been putting up photos on my wordpress blog as inspiration for my work (I'm a jewellery designer and like taking photographs of woodlands and landscapes). Well today i had a landscape painter contact me after I liked one of her painting she put up on her blog. She asked if she could use my photographs and I'm stuck on how to respond! I haven;t had this happen to me before and I'm flattered but whether this is a good idea?

If anyone has any advice or experience of how to approach this feel free to share

Comments

• Options
    FergusonFerguson Registered Users Posts: 1,339 Major grins

Are you asking whether you should try to make money from it?

Or just whether to allow someone to share in your art?

The latter seems a matter for you, really; how could we know?

The former is a can of worms depending what you want to do, etc.

Here's the question only you can answer: if you say yes, and they do something grand and sell it for thousands of dollars, will you feel happy and complimented, or short changed. How you answer that may provide the underlying answer to give.

• Options
    Cygnus StudiosCygnus Studios Registered Users Posts: 2,294 Major grins

I'm a little surprised that a painter even asked (Most people wouldn't bother to ask).

Painters rarely make exact duplicates of a photo, more often use them as inspiration, so selling the image is not the easiest thing for the photographer.

In all my years I've only had 1 painter ask for a photo for their inspiration and I simply gave it to them for a copy of the final painting.

I personally believe that you should always charge for an image, whether that is cash or barter or something else that you value.