any wedding videographers switching to 4k yet? any comments?

sdeweddingssdeweddings Registered Users Posts: 13 Big grins
edited January 19, 2017 in Weddings

yesterday, I had a bride from Toronto asking us to deliver video for her in 4k, her wedding is 2018 so we still have a lot of time to transition.

did anyone else have any experience with this?

i know is not an easy process, first camera then post.

:( is a lot of trouble, but i suppose this is a sign of what it is to come.

Tagged:

Comments

• WeiselWeisel Registered Users Posts: 235 Major grins

Well, I recently bought a 5D Mk IV, with 4k video. I'm a wedding photographer who is now adding vid to my offerings. Haven't done much for pay work yet, but this thing is amazing.

Canon 5D MK IV | 24-70 2.8L USM | 50mm F1.4 USM | 70-200mm F2.8L | AB 800 light | 430EXII speedlight (x2) | Lowel iLight | Cybersync remotes | bag of trail mix |
    My Weddings WebsiteBlog
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,764 moderator

Remember to price accordingly. 4k is still a premium format if done properly. Prices should be commensurate with the additional quality.

4k means different things to different people. Do they require DCI (4096 x 2160) or UHD (3840 x 2160)?

Are they expecting multiple viewing angles? Will they allow intercuts with FullHD/2k?

Full wedding coverage? (Long format)

What are they expecting for deliverables? Disc? HD? Streaming? Highlights on a flash drive?

ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Cygnus StudiosCygnus Studios Registered Users Posts: 2,294 Major grins

@ziggy53 said:
    Remember to price accordingly. 4k is still a premium format if done properly. Prices should be commensurate with the additional quality.

I thought that 4K was pretty much the norm these days? It's been 3 or 4 years since I've seen anybody use 1080 on a commercial project.

Steve

Website

.> @Cygnus Studios said:

@ziggy53 said: