Just a few pics

EvertkingEvertking Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins

I'm new to photography and have fell in love with OCF. Here is a few of my wife. Any advice is welcome I want to learn.

Comments

• EvertkingEvertking Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins

What I have problems with and confuses me.. say I have my light set and my subject in place.. the what next is what gets me. Do I start with a apature, or iso shutter speed?

• AlTheKillerAlTheKiller Registered Users Posts: 192 Major grins

What I learned was to get the exposure you want for the natural light part of the photo, then add in the light for your subject. Depending on your setup, you will use aperture to control the OCF either with high speed sync or a ND filter. I use the filter because its cheaper than upgrading my lights. You can also adjust the power level of the light too.

@AlTheKiller said:
    What I learned was to get the exposure you want for the natural light part of the photo, then add in the light for your subject. Depending on your setup, you will use aperture to control the OCF either with high speed sync or a ND filter. I use the filter because its cheaper than upgrading my lights. You can also adjust the power level of the light too.

Thank you. That's where I get frustrated, I have it all set up and then I look at my camera and I go blank.. lol
    I bought me a sekonic? Light meter and would like to use it. Could I have my light and subject set up and use the meter to get my exposure and the I would add flash to my subject till I like the exposure? Am I getting this right? Trying to avoid HSS in this situation. Do I adjust my apature or the power of the flash on my subject?
    Hope I'm not confusing you here.

• Cygnus StudiosCygnus Studios Registered Users Posts: 2,294 Major grins
    edited May 25, 2017