Options

baby on the way need help with camera selection

redgreenskiredgreenski Registered Users Posts: 6 Big grins
edited August 14, 2017 in Cameras
I am completely new to photography. I did extensive reading in here, youtube and various online sites on DSLR cameras vs mirrorless vs just standard point and shoot.
My requirements are:
- low light indoor conditions
- bright light indoor conditions with dark shadows (hospital floor, think delivery room)
- fast moving subjects (think baby)
- compact and portable enough that I would want to take it on trips
- my wife says that for her good video is a must too
I looked into different posts here and I found that a lot of people seem to like Fuji XT-1 and Sony a6000. Others also get good pictures with Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 IV. I have pretty much decided against Fuji XT-1 due to poorer video quality than a6000. I am now stuck between the models below:
1. RX100
- seems compact, more portable, more likely to take on everyday trips and snap a picture instead of the iPhone 7plus
- will I get as good pictures at home when portability does not matter as much?
2. a6000
- with proper lens will I get much better indoor pictures than RX100? or is the difference negligible
3. a6300/a6500
- is video quality substantially better on a6300 vs a6000
- is a6500 worth the higher price range for me?

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,791 moderator
    edited August 16, 2017

Where to start?

Hospitals vary greatly as to illumination in the delivery room/birthing room. I'll trust you with the "bright light indoor conditions with dark shadows" but caution that the brightest may be only when the doctor actually delivers the baby and then only around the birth site itself. Generally hospital illumination will run from typical indoor lighting to low light, to give the mother a break. Most modern cameras do well in really good light but smaller sensors can struggle in lower light.