Digital Download Pricing

JMWiehlJMWiehl Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
New to this site and forum so nice to meet you guys. This is my first time posting a question, hopefully I'm in the right spot and someone can give me some guidance. I'm in the process of adding content to my Smugmug site, figuring out what I want to offer and deciding on pricing so it's not live yet.

My smugmug site URL is: www.jmwiehl.com
Access code to view it is: showmethephotos30

My question is, can anyone give me a benchmark or minimum price for selling a single non-exclusive commercial digital download(original size(4000x6000))? Up until now I've been selling photos through a stock photo site which takes a big cut out of my sales. I've done some research trying to figure out how much other sites are selling them for at full price but it's very confusing because many offer bulk pricing.

I am aware that pricing is difficult to give because it depends on several factors. I just don't want to overshoot my prices or undercut myself. I realize that eventually the market will tell me either way but I'd still like to have a general idea of what the market rates are.

Any advice or references would greatly be appreciated! Thank you. -Jessica

Comments

• ShinryaShinrya Registered Users Posts: 197 Major grins

I price my full size commercial downloads at $329. Used to be $349 but sometimes I like to fluctuate the price.

I still consider this to be cheap even for royalty free, especially considering that Smugmug's usage terms are pretty liberal. I based my price off of several stock sites that have loose terms for commercial licensing e.g 500px (between $149 and $650) Alamy.com ($315) and Getty ($500)

I say ignore the other sites like shutterstock, 123rf.com, Adobe Stock. Those guys value your images in terms of pennies!

• ShinryaShinrya Registered Users Posts: 197 Major grins