Modified Landscape Pictures are no longer Natural !

DPT_StudioDPT_Studio Registered Users Posts: 17 Big grins
Hello all I am new to this. Sadly I see people add lot of colors to pictures to make them look dramatic. They no longer look natural. like GMO sort of.
Tagged:

Comments

• kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,680 moderator

Hello DPT_Studio, welcome to the landscapes forum!

Picture processing is all about finding that line between realism and artist expression for all of us. In this forum we post pictures and discuss them. Feel free to comment on other's photos and/or post your own work and let the discussions begin!

• jan1prsjan1prs Registered Users Posts: 50 Big grins

A photograph is an interpretation of what we see! Since a camera can not capture what our eyes actually see. Ansel Adams would develop, burn, dodge, over/under expose as many as 80 times until he got what he saw in his mind.

• DPT_StudioDPT_Studio Registered Users Posts: 17 Big grins
    I understand. Just when u use the word Nature it should be just that no more no less. Same like with my TV I set the color to bare minimum to make it look natural and realistic.
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,764 moderator

Look at it this way; some of the world's best landscape/nature images are gray-scale/B&W. How realistic is that?

It's not a simple or straightforward problem.

I subscribe to the notion that there should be different classes of images relating to natural image capture:

1. Photo-Realistic, where there is minimal manipulation, either in-camera (including use of polarizing filters, etc.) or in post-processing.
    2. Enhanced Photo-Realistic, where an image is manipulated with the intent of making it appear more appealing visually, but could be mistaken for simple Photo-Realistic.
    3. Rendered, where pretty much anything goes, including advanced and exaggerated processing, either in-camera or in post-processing.