Putting together a photo show?

jswoolf01jswoolf01 Registered Users Posts: 31 Big grins

I've been taking pictures of nature and wildlife for a lot of years, and have built a decent collection of shots I'm not afraid to let other people see. :-) So I'm thinking about putting together a one-man photo show for a local nature center where I'm a volunteer. Their auditorium/main room has space for maybe a hundred photos total - fewer if I make some of them very large.

Thing is, I've never done anything like this before, so I'm wondering what's the best way to go about it. At the moment I'm still in the "I wonder if I can do this" stage. So I have some pretty basic beginner type questions. Such as:

How big do my images have to be in order to get good size prints - at least 8x10, and some deserve to be 11x14 or 11x17? The rule I learned when I was starting out in digital photography was "minimum 250 pixels/inch, and 300 for best quality." Is that still true?

How much is framing likely to cost? Should I try doing it myself, or just get them all framed at a shop?

Thx,

-- Jon W.

Tagged:

Comments

• puzzledpaulpuzzledpaul Registered Users Posts: 1,621 Major grins

I've never 'put on a (print) show' - but I have given a couple of talks to local photo clubs - so there'll be others far more experienced in this endeavour, I'm sure.

Things that come to (my) mind - re nature / wildlife pics if considering this.

Have the pics you're considering using been seen / commented on by other people - who know what they're looking at/for - I don't mean family members / friends who'll say all manner of nice words.

Don't use multiple images from the same day / setup - just because you've had a 'purple patch' on a good target rich day

Vary colours / lighting of pics - front / side / backlit etc. Sunny / overcast / dull / rain / snow etc