Picasa Migration to Google

grandmaRgrandmaR Registered Users Posts: 1,942 Major grins

Nor sure if this is the proper forum for this but I figured if anyone would know it would be you guys.

Even as a definite Amateur I do have a lot of photos which I do not want to lose. .

The short story is - I want to put my photos someplace on the internet so I can retrieve them if/when the media they are now snored on goes south. And I want to be able to access the photos so that I can link to them for websites that I can't upload directly like I can here.

This is a long winded explanation of how I got to where I am now

Originally I was sending my film to Seattle Film Works - they would do prints and a digital copy. This was long enough ago that it was the 3/14" floppies. At some point I got all the photos that I had on Filmworks onto CDs. But they are just a whole bunch of photos without any organization.Then Seattle Filmworks became Filmworks, and eventually went belly up and all the photos in their archive were moved to Shutterfly. This was sometime around 2007. The problem with Shutterfly was/is that I cannot easily rearrange the photos in the albums or the albums themselves, and I cannot seem to link to them as they are not stored as .jpeg files. It is also hard to download digitially - I have to do it one photo at a time. I have over 900 albums on Shutterfly.but most are smaller albums with 30-80 photos in them.