WD my book duo RAID system

vdotmatrixvdotmatrix Registered Users Posts: 343 Major grins

I need a home for all my stuff and i started shooting video with my 5DM4.

Iwant an alternative to filling up my hard drive want to know if anyone works directly of an external HD .

I want to work on images in photoshop and lightroom from and external HD or raid.

Is this how people use a raid or an external HD.

Thanks

Comments

• kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,680 moderator
    edited November 20, 2018

I use external drives for all my stills and video, 16TB worth. Works great. The external drives are all 7200 RPM magnetic drives in Startech enclosures and connected via USB3 ports. All the external drives are backed up regularly with an incremental backup program. Two backup copies, one kept on-site and one in a safety deposit box (I rotate those copies regularly). I choose NOT to use RAID. I have no performance issues and I'm happy with my backup strategy so nothing to be gained by the extra complication of using RAID.

If you're going to use external magnetic hard drives, you should use an SSD for your system and applications, LR catalog, and Adobe scratch areas. That's the key to good performance with Adobe s/w.

• RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,893 moderator

I use two external WD drives, but I haven't bothered with RAID either. I do a nightly incremental backup to one of the drives for all my current stuff. Periodically, I move completed work to an archive on an external drive, then synch the drive to a second one. I also make two archival copies of my LR catalog at the same time. That means that at any given time, I have two copies of everything that matters. All my processing is done on a local SSD, which is far faster than external spinning platters. The external drives are only for storage.

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,764 moderator
    edited November 20, 2018