Snowstorm

sarasphotossarasphotos Registered Users Posts: 3,822 Major grins

A couple of days ago we had a good snowstorm, so I thought it might be a good opportunity to improve my snow-shooting skills. I did a bit of reading, set up the tripod on our balcony and followed some of the tips (manual focus, fast shutter speed, over-exposure). Here's what I came up with:

1)

2)

3)

4)

C & C welcome!

Tagged:

Comments

• PJPhotoPJPhoto Registered Users Posts: 16 Big grins
    We don't get much snow around here so I'm not an expert on shooting the white stuff, but I think they are a little too bright and the snow looks washed out. I appreciate it is very difficult to get right though, and as mentioned I've not done much snow landscapes!

That said the last shot in the series works really well - that's a really nice composition. The leaning tree on the left brings you into a nice & pleasing image.
  • denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Administrators Posts: 14,220 moderator
    edited January 7, 2019

My favorite shot of the set is 4 - it has a sense of motion to it.
    2 is a close second.

Snow is hard! I find that I need to relearn snow photos every winter...

• CornflakeCornflake Registered Users Posts: 3,346 Major grins

I like these, except for the first; the branch on the right in that one is distracting and even jarring. Otherwise, the high-key effect and the softness work well. The fourth probably works best for me. Keep it up!

• kurzvorzwoelfkurzvorzwoelf Registered Users Posts: 339 Major grins

Number #4 also works very well for me. I'd just consider increasing contrast a little, maybe by lowering shadows or rasing up the blacks. On the other hand, it has a very nice effect as it is - if you look at it for a while, it's almost as getting snow blind. That's a very nice effect.

Number #3 has its unique charme due to the washed out scene. I like this one too.