Lightroom Publish to SmugMug - Syncing Folders/Photos

SkidsSkids Northampton, UKRegistered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
Hi I have been using the SmugMug publish plugin in Lightroom for quite some time now and when uploading a new gallery I let the plugin convert my modified raw files to JPG during the upload. Recently I have freed up disk space by converting all of my raw files to JPG (Being older files I wouldn't want to edit them again) then deleting the raw files.
When I delete it says that the files are on an external service (SmugMug) and I tell it to leave the files on the service and my website still looks fine.
But now I have decided to create a new Lightroom catalog for 2019 and I want to sync the published folders in the plugin.
My question is, if I allow it to sync photos will it see that the raw files are no longer there and subsequently remove the associated images from my website as obviously I don't want to lose those.
I have synced the folders and published a new gallery with no problems but wondered if turning on syncing photos would cause a problem?
I hope this makes sense :)

Thanks

Comments

  • leftquarkleftquark Former SmugMug Product Team Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,747 Many Grins

    You can create a new catalog and sync the files without losing anything on smugmug. It's actually what I do each year -- create a new Catalog file to start fresh, and then begin syncing with SmugMug

    dGrin Afficionado
    Former SmugMug Product Team
    aaron AT aaronmphotography DOT com
    Website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com
    My SmugMug CSS Customizations website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com/Customizations
  • SkidsSkids Northampton, UKRegistered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
    > @leftquark said:
    > You can create a new catalog and sync the files without losing anything on smugmug. It's actually what I do each year -- create a new Catalog file to start fresh, and then begin syncing with SmugMug

    Thanks :)
Sign In or Register to comment.