Need of Help Salvaging a Landscape Shot

MoonMan04MoonMan04 Registered Users Posts: 69 Big grins

Hey, so I'm new to using filters and what not, and I had realized I made a mistake here. I put my CP on then a UV filter on top mainly to protect the CP, but then I realized it gave my photo a permanent vignette that needs to go. I'm going to crop the top out so I'm not worried about that, but I can't afford to crop the bottom. I tried playing around with it in Lightroom to get rid of the vignette, but failed. Can someone give me a hand here on what you would do to salvage this photo?

Kyle C. Moon
Portfolio: Moonman.Photography

Comments

• black mambablack mamba Registered Users Posts: 8,319 Major grins

Stacking filters will very often cause vignettes, as you have discovered. Before cropping this shot, I would try a simple zapping of the affected areas at the corners....might work, the lower right corner miaht be the toughest to work out. This shot needs some serious bump in luminance and, given another go at the scene, I would seek to include all of both trucks. Good luck. Others may have input that can help you.

I always wanted to lie naked on a bearskin rug in front of a fireplace. Cracker Barrel didn't take kindly to it.
  • RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,893 moderator

Content-aware fill in Photoshop will easily fix everything but the lower right corner. The problem there is that part of the tire above the snow line is gone and CA fill probably won't be very much help. I think the best option would be to crop the right edge so that you lose the part of the tire that's gone. There will still be some stuff that needs fixing in the snow, but that should be fairly easy to do with a clone stamp or healing brush. If you are dead-set against cropping, then you can either try to reconstruct the missing detail in the tire (tedious, but maybe doable), or you could try cloning in enough bushes to cover the missing tire pixels.