aspect ratios - print sales

jimhjimh Registered Users Posts: 140 Major grins
edited May 1, 2019 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support

I don't do weddings or events, I guess you'd have to call me an 'art photographer'. I've sold prints on FAA for years, but would rather be selling off of SmugMug. The big issue is aspect ratios. For wall art you don't want any cropping, but by default, SM offers prints at various sizes, only one of which gets the whole image. (Some of my photos aren't even standard ratios, which is worse).

What I want to do is restrict print purchases to aspect ratios that fit the photo. But that doesn't seem to be easily done, here.

Would I have to go through my hundreds of photos one-by-one and select the products to make available? Is there a print vendor that prints at arbitrary sizes? Is there any other way to effectively sell 'art prints' at SM?

Comments

• Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,448 Major grins

I'm a nature/landscape photographer and I have different pricelists based on aspect ratio. The 'Portfolio' and 'Pro' plan offer price lists.

• denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Administrators Posts: 14,220 moderator
    edited May 1, 2019

Usually you assign galleries to a price list although you can override at the photo level.

If you have a Portfolio account you can have a single active pricelist.
    If you have a Pro account you can have as many active pricelists as you want or need.

You can find set-up information on this help page: https://help.smugmug.com/set-up-photo-pricing-for-sales-Skh7egPJNHz.

I encourage you to identify a set of sizes that work for (most) of your photos. Do not offer the photos at every size available.

• jimhjimh Registered Users Posts: 140 Major grins
    edited May 1, 2019

Give me a clue here - I need a different price list for every aspect ratio? And to do that I need a "Pro" account?

edited May 1, 2019

@jimh said: