Issue with stitched panorama using Lightroom

bfluegiebfluegie Registered Users Posts: 736 Major grins

I don’t usually do panoramas, but I was on my hotel balcony in Hawaii all set up (camera on tripod in vertical orientation) and waiting for the Hilton Friday night fireworks. I was early, but that’s always better than last minute. But, since I had a camera and the sun had just set I did what most people with cameras would do. I started taking pictures. The next thing I knew I had taken a series from west to east. When I stitched it in Lightroom I saw some issues. Mainly there is a lot of discontinuity in the balcony railing in the foreground. I also see some horizon curvature. I suspect these are a result of my technique, not the Lightroom stitching.

Since I’m a newbie at this I unintentionally overlapped more than needed, about 70-80% instead of 30% so the pano was stitched skipping alternate (sometimes even two) photos. But when I repeated the stitching with all of the photos included I still got the discontinuities but they were a little smaller. Here are a few details:

• I don’t have an L-bracket so the camera was not centered over the tripod, and rotation was not about the camera axis. I definitely didn’t pay any attention to the nodal point. I wasn’t planning on doing panos so I forgive myself for not being prepared, but that may contribute to the mismatching I see in the balcony railing.
  • My tripod is a Manfrotto 190XPROB with 488RC4 ball head. I sometimes think this tripod is less stable than I would like, but the details in the pano seem to be OK. Maybe being on the balcony limited vibration from wind
  • I shot using a wired remote and I didn't use mirror lock-up