Options

Results of Mini-Challenge #283 Abstract ICM and/or Multiple Exposures

DavidRGillespieDavidRGillespie Registered Users Posts: 819 Many Grins

I am surprised and delighted at the range of abstract art that this challenge pulled. There are great examples of post impressionism, abstract surrealism, abstract expressionism, lyrical expressionism, and cubism; and even one that might qualify as Dadaism.

Let me say that I am no expert (or even amateur) in the area of evaluating abstract art, and in fact, there aren't really any standards to apply. My perspective is that I know what I like, and I try to understand why I like it. So the evaluations are pretty subjective (buried in a bit of pseudo-objective commentary).

@Jag - I was really taken with your second image, which probably fits a lyrical impressionism definition. The texture of the bark underlying a very lovely portrait with a young face and a thoughtful expression carries strong emotions of wistfulness, sadness, impending age.

@StueveShots - I take back the comments I made just after you posted! I think I was expecting quite different images from the ones you posted, but, after looking at them several times, the first two images are definitely within the definition. They have an abstract surrealism quality to them that puzzles the brain and draws the eye. But it is your third image that I really like (again, a subjective view). It is a very lovely two-tone image in an abstract impressionist style. The swirls create neat blocks of colour that suggest happiness and peace.

@Cavalier - I am really taken with your first image, of the multicoloured waterfall. The sprays of well-defined water drops emerging from the vertical stripes creates a very three-dimensional image that draws the eye back into the image repeatedly. There is joy and mystery in the image.