Bay Photo not available for Power users

FergusonFerguson Registered Users Posts: 1,339 Major grins

This is a suggestion.

I have a power not pro subscription. I do not print a lot, but when I do it is often large prints. In the last 6 months or so I have done about $1200 worth of prints from Bay Photo. I love them.

Only one of those was even available (in that size/type) from Smugmug in my subscription.

I wonder how many people like me, with non-pro subscriptions, might be giving Smugmug a bit of business if we were not limited to Ezprint? (I'm assuming that's who you use for us, it's been years since I did something with them).

I really can't understand the difference -- it's not like it provides a functional feature difference in power vs. pro - one can just go directly to the alternate vendors without any real trouble. The real function difference is selling at a markup, price lists, etc.

This is not high on the list of things I care about personally. To be fair since I've gone direct so long I would likely not switch now. But as I just got another gorgeous Bay gallery wrap, it occurred to me to check whether I could have bought it on Smugmug -- nope. It was 30x45, you stop at 30x40.

Just something for you to consider, whether you are really providing product distinction, or just shooting yourselves in the foot.

Linwood

Comments

• leftquarkleftquark Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,784 Many Grins

I'm curious to hear other folks thoughts on this! So I'll bump this in hopes this topic gets some more engagement!

dGrin Afficionado
    Former SmugMug Product Team
    aaron AT aaronmphotography DOT com
    My SmugMug CSS Customizations website: http://www.aaronmphotography.com/Customizations
  • ShinryaShinrya Registered Users Posts: 197 Major grins

Hey Ferguson,

I'm on a Pro subscription and do a fair amount of prints. All setup through BayPhoto.