Options

Blogger dilemma

photoman10photoman10 Registered Users Posts: 39 Big grins
My first post here, why? I am new to SM, my previous host had a built in blog that was fast, easy, and worked good for SEO. I am pretty disappointed that one major tool that is needed for a photography site is missing such a valuable feature.

I have poured over many threads both here and on the internet and have see the workaround. That to me is a very labor intensive process fraught with peril if you are not a coder. I am not a coder I am a photographer and do not want to spend hours managing a manual blog for SEO and more visibility but at the same time i need a blog.

it is my understanding that if I got a blogger account on google that is one solution as far as the blog goes but that does me nothing for my website even if it did it would do nothing for SEO. I have been told the code for iframe to embed the blog on my page does not work on SM. I know NOTHING about Wordpress or the discussion how to link the two together.

I have played with the custom pages and in fact made a couple, very disappoint as it is very limited in scope which means to jazz up the pages I either need to learn to code or find code that meets my needs.

I see this is an age old issue with SM and also see that SM has responded many times saying an integrated blog is on their mind for the future, something it appears has been the party line for many years.

Has anyone recently come up with a solution for us non coders that is simple, easy to manage, that will successfully help SEO, that does not cost even more money, if used? I know whatever I do now would disappear if SM did come out with an integrated blog as most assuredly all the links would be different once converted so really it is a catch 22 in many ways. Not to mention a lot of re-work on my part.

Sorry for the rant but I just got a reply from a SM Support Hero that he would put adding a "blog" in as a feature request. Very frustrated.
Tagged: