How to price digital downloads to not compete with print sales?

amys_wavesandwondersamys_wavesandwonders Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins

I've disabled digital downloads for now until I figure this out. I have no idea what an appropriate price for downloads is so as to not compete with the prints. Can anyone give guidance? I'm totally new to all this.

Comments

• slpollettslpollett Registered Users Posts: 1,189 Major grins

I don't think there is an easy answer, tbh. It really depends on how you feel about selling your digital files. I resisted for so long, but finally bit the bullet and started offering them in 2020. I tend to do more seniors and family portraits and let me tell you, the kids want the digital files and so do lots of Moms. They want to buy the files and then use them for invitations or thank you cards and stuff like that. I already provide web-sized low resolution files for sharing on social media, so they don't need to purchase the file for that, at least from me.

I would "prefer" to only offer the digital file as an add-on after a certain dollar amount ordered, but then I had more questions from that. What order threshold would I want to set? If I said that any orders over say $500 could add on the digital file, would that be an unlimited number of files or just the files that were used for that print order? What if someone just wanted digital and no prints? Then after all that, I'd still have to figure out how to price the digital file.

I looked at what other photographer's are doing and it's really all over the place. Some don't offer at all. One of my local photographer friends actually gives the files to her customers who place the larger orders with her. Some sell the files for what I consider to be a fairly high price. Some sell them for what I consider to be way to cheap.