Picking a New System

WookehWookeh Registered Users Posts: 3 Big grins
The story of how I got here is long and tortured, but I find myself picking a new system. I'm an amateur with delusions of adequacy. I started my photography with a Nikon D100, and then switched to a Canon 1Ds Mk II. That 1Ds was a workhorse for me. The batteries died more than 10 years ago and I haven't been able to find replacements. Even if I could the thing is a boat anchor, and is like 20 years old. Plus, I was never able to get color out of the 1Ds that I liked as much as the D100, and I tried so very hard. In the end I took photography classes to learn this, and those classes ended up destroying my desire to do the kind of photography I was doing. But 10 years later, I'm thinking I need me a camera again.

I imagine I'll mostly do "F8 and be there" kind of photography; auto focus and battery life are important. I'm looking for a flagship mirrorless body, and just one lens (ha!), probably a 50mm F1.4. I do mostly stills and don't care about the video capabilities, I don't have the patience to edit video. Pixels in the neighborhood of 50 MP seems pretty easy in this range.

I was just going to jump back to Nikon for their look. While reviews of the Z7's picture quality and galleries look really good, it seems the auto-focus eye/face tracking is badly broken. I've seen mention of Z8 and Z9 coming, and maybe I'll wait to see how they look when they finally turn up. This made me realize I needed to maybe look at all the current systems and not just blindly go with Nikon. And that caused me to lock up due to too much choice.

A small part of me wants to fork out for the Hasselbald X1D II 50C. The galleries all look out of this world. Sadly, it would appear to be the worst possible choice. Other than the occasional fine art shots for my mother's and her friends paintings. Not enough of that do justify it tho. I can't take the Fuji medium format cameras seriously, I can't explain why.