First Wildlife Adventure

slpollettslpollett Registered Users Posts: 1,189 Major grins

I've never really done wildlife photography (mainly because of lack of opportunity), but my husband and I recently celebrated our 40th anniversary with a trip to Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone. One of the things we did was schedule a photography tour at Grand Teton NP. I had wanted to shoot some landscapes and my husband wanted to shoot wildlife. I am a semi-serious amateur and my husband generally will tag along with me and take a few pics if I give him a spare camera. I've been trying to get him away from the "auto" setting, lol. (This photography tour helped him a lot in that area.) Anyhoo...the day of our tour ended up being cold, overcast, and rainy (in August), so it was a no-go for me and landscapes, so I set up to shoot wildlife as well. I am so glad I did! I shoot with a Canon 5D MKIII and I have a Canon 6D MKII that my husband uses. I put the Sigma 150-600 lens on the camera for him and I used my Canon 100-400 mm lens, so we were not close to any of the animals.

The damp, overcast day was perfect for wildlife. There were hardly any other people out in the rain, but plenty of animals. We saw a lot of elk, pronghorn, and moose. Here are a few of my favorites:

My husband had so much fun on this outing that he wanted me to schedule one while we were at Yellowstone, but I wasn't able to get that done. We did go out on our own though. We drove through Lamar Valley and did see a lot of bison, some deer, one bear, and a bald eagle . The eagle was flying and we weren't able to get a picture of him, but it was wonderful to see him nonetheless.

My husband has now been bitten by the wildlife photography bug, so we plan more adventures in the future. :)

Sherry Pollett

Comments

• denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Administrators Posts: 14,220 moderator

It looks like you had a good day!

My favorites are 1 and 3, awesome!

• kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,680 moderator