Options

One of my photos was used without permission

bfluegiebfluegie Registered Users Posts: 739 Major grins
edited January 2, 2024 in The Big Picture

I have a “what would you do” kind of question. I was looking online and I found one of my photos on a site with a review of a beach in Hawaii. The caption of the photo does list my Flickr user name and it does link back to the photo (I didn't realize this at first and I have edited this post to correct that error). This is the link to the page.
And this is the caption on the photo:
A woman and her dog - Nanakuli Beach Park – bfluegie - CC BY 2.0 (Unmodified)

The Flickr page it was copied from lists the copyright status as all rights reserved, but I never gave permission for the photo to be used. Furthermore, CC by 2.0 allows unlimited sharing (if I understand correctly). But even if shared, attribution is required. I’m not a professional and my photos aren’t really that good. If someone had asked me if they could use my photo of the beach for this purpose I might have said yes. It’s the whole not asking issue that gripes me. And the unlimited sharing of course… so maybe I wouldn’t have said yes.

In any case, since I’m not a pro and I would never have tried to sell the photo I haven’t come to any real financial harm. My user name is listed, so the photo is attributed to me. But, most importantly, I never agreed to the terms of CC by 2.0. I’m considering contacting Creative Commons to explain the issue and ask them to remove my photo from the blog post since it was used without my permission. I don’t know if that will get me anywhere. I suppose if that doesn’t work I could leave a review on the offending blog page and tell them I am not happy that they stole my photo. Or I could just let it go since it isn’t costing me anything. Any better suggestions?

~~Barbara

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,812 moderator