Options

Dreaded Error 99, Shutter Problem

binghottbinghott Registered Users Posts: 1,075 Major grins
edited December 27, 2005 in Cameras
during a photo shoot today i started having problems with my digital rebel. i could hear the shutter partially click and then the screen said “error 99″. i would restart the camera and then continue shooting. that happened about 15 times during the shoot.

i had to shoot a concert tonight, so i was hoping the camera would last through the show. when i got there, i took some test shots to gauge the lighting. i was excited to be shooting a band in a venue that actually had decent lighting. as soon as the band came on stage and played their first note, i started shooting. on my first shot i got “error 99″ and that was all she wrote. i couldn't get it running again. i tried switching lenses, taking out batteries, and tons of other things, but nothing worked.

the problem isn't the lens because i tried all of my lenses. even though i knew there was no relation i tested the batteries, the memory card, battery grip, and anything i could, hoping it would somehow help. i'm very sure it's a shutter problem. i hear the shutter partially click when i press the shutter button.

i've had the camera for a few days over one year now, so my warranty period is over. i can't really complain about the camera crapping out, i've logged over 60,000 actuations with it, without a single problem until now. i do take good care of it, but i've used it like a work horse.

i've been planning on getting a new 20d and this is giving me a good reason to go get one, but i still want my rebel to be working as my second camera.

it's also funny that this would happen to me right after everything else was going so well equipment wise. i just got a used 17-40 f4L for a great price, got a reflector for free, and an offer for a free reflector holder. oh well.