Options

Segregation

camblercambler Registered Users Posts: 277 Major grins
edited August 22, 2011 in SmugMug Support
I suspect that there's no way to clearly segregate categories, is there?

That is, I shoot two things. I shoot fashion/glamour, and I shoot cheerleading competitions (by way of explanation, I'm a fashion/glamour photographer but my daughter cheers, so her gym has asked me to shoot competitions. I'm not weird, I swear!).

That said, I don't want parents coming to look for cheerleading shots to see the fashion/glamour stuff. It can get racy.

I'm looking at two separate accounts to ensure that this doesn't happen, right? There's no way to have two completely segregated genres of photography and keep one set from the other, especially since I can only have one account name. Right?

Comments

• Options
    dogwooddogwood Registered Users Posts: 2,572 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2006
    possible option
    If you didn't have a ton of cheerleading photos, you could creat a private gallery and hide your navigation back to your main site. The url would be a bit unwieldy (yourname.smugmug.com/xxxxxxx) and wouldn't be too difficult to figure out how to get to your main gallery (drop the xxxxxxx in the address bar).

But I'm sure you've figured this part out. I'll be curious to see what the experts say about your question.

Portland, Oregon Photographer Pete Springer
    website blog instagram facebook g+

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2006
    Private, passworded galleries? Led to, by a navbar link?
  • Options
    edited March 3, 2006
    Andy wrote:
    Private, passworded galleries? Led to, by a navbar link?

Yes, but those would be individual galleries, and would still have the URL of "cheerphoto" which has nothing to do with my fashion/glamour work.