Options

NEW SHEM CREEK and orig Shem Creek

ginger_55ginger_55 Registered Users Posts: 8,416 Major grins
edited September 15, 2004 in The Dgrin Challenges
8547941-L.jpg

8554845-L.jpg

OK, I know that only an idiot puts his/her original photo on, but this is it. I have had problems with this photo from the beginning. But I know it is a good photo, it is an unusual take on Shem Creek. Most photos were not more processed than another, they would be a bit differently processed. Just lightening it was the easy part, until I got CS, then I just used curves, shadow/highlights, and I did brighten and burn by the use of the rectangular thing. I am not good at layers, so I don't use them.

The top one here has had one more thing done to it than the other one I posted earlier, the whole photo is darker, then this one is lighter on the left.
That was a simple bright/contrast dodging by way of rectangles.

All the ones I did today had the sky burned in almost the same way: a rectangle here, a rectangle there, with more saturation.

I don't know what to do, I am just tired of working with this same photo, I don't think anyone but a few people would like the house, I have had little feedback, other than Snappy. No, that does not mean I am going to go out and shoot more, I could not take this photo now. I have got it to where I like it.

I just don't know what to do, I like all my photographs, all of them, it is just too difficult to choose, but it seemed to me that this one had everything that would have been called for. It is "after dark", there are lights, one boat, for interest. The other lights have been softened a bit to bring the boat out. I don't know what the original colors are, but that is the original right there.
Please, have a go, do whatever, give me more feedback.

Would others of you like the house? I can't imagine that, but I love the house, and now there is positive feedback.