Options

New to pricing Pics

tmshotstmshots Registered Users Posts: 59 Big grins
edited September 18, 2004 in Mind Your Own Business
Hello all
Havent posted for a while but need a little help. I'm new to this whole online pricing and wondered if anyone can lend a hand. Normally when I would do a shoot I would give flat rates and throw in pictures added to the price (ie; model shoots and weddings) here is the delima, I'm not use to individually pricing out pics and therefore am stuck. Normally I would charge like 5.00 (US) for 8x10's and then like less than that for 5x7's when I would figure out a bulk package deal. I'm wanting to try this where they can now come to the site to purchase what they want but have no idea where to start. Anyone here willing to share their secret pricings? or even give a ballpark figure? Any aid would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Comments

• Options
    mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited September 17, 2004
    Pricing
    tmshots wrote:
    Hello all
    Havent posted for a while but need a little help. I'm new to this whole online pricing and wondered if anyone can lend a hand. Normally when I would do a shoot I would give flat rates and throw in pictures added to the price (ie; model shoots and weddings) here is the delima, I'm not use to individually pricing out pics and therefore am stuck. Normally I would charge like 5.00 (US) for 8x10's and then like less than that for 5x7's when I would figure out a bulk package deal.

I found other photographers doing work similar to mine and then try to price myself relative to them based on how I felt my work compared to them. They were also selling photos one-at-a-time online after an event (a race). My prices are higher than yours (I would charge $15 for an 8x10), but let me explain why. You give flat rates for a shoot, and then sell photos. So far I've been all spec shooting, so I only get money from prints.