Options

Starting a traveling Pet Studio

AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
edited March 29, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
OK pros, who's got some advice for this emailer? :ear
email wrote:
Let me summarize my business plan for you and if you have any tips or suggestions for me, that'd be great.

I'm starting a 'traveling' studio specializing in Pet Portraits (I'm a dog trainer.) My plan is to travel to client's houses or a location of their choice and take studio quality shots of their pets. I have all the basic equipment. strobes..backrounds/stands.. softboxes..etc. Then come home and put the images on smugmug for clients to order prints. (My husband is a programmer..so he's going to handle all the web-site stuff.) Since I don't have a storefront to support, I want to set prices so they are affordable to the average joe. (OK..maybe not the 'average' joe..but the middle-class joe..heehee) But I don't want to set them so low that it's not worth my time.

Do you have any suggestions on what to set my sitting fee at? I'm assuming the sitting fee is where I'm going to make the majority of my profit. Or is that not the case.? ANY ideas or tips you can give me on a pricing range would be tremendously helpful as I'm new to this 'taking pictures for money' business. It's always been just a hobby.

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited March 20, 2006
    My first suggestion it to get this book:

http://dgrin.smugmug.com/gallery/1097113

Read it, learn it, know it, use it deal.gif
  • Options
    PossumCornerPossumCorner Registered Users Posts: 290 Major grins
    edited March 20, 2006
    There are some threads on this topic at the nwpphotoforum.com with some good pro advice on general pet photography issues including pricing.
  • Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited March 20, 2006