Options

future of freelancers?

trihokietrihokie Registered Users Posts: 78 Big grins
edited March 29, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
I have been a freelance photographer for a Central Florida newspaper for several years now. My editor recently told me about all of the video training that he is being put through. Yes, video training for a print newspaper. They are starting a push for Quick Time and Windows Media film clips on the newspaper's web site. I was wondering if any of you had any thoughts of the future of freelance photographers. Will we be shooting more video and less stills? Or, with the advancements in technology, will we be pulling 8 megapixel images from our video for use in printed media? Should I buy a new Canon 1d or a Canon XL-2? Does anyone have a crystal ball?

Hokies Rule!
www.trihokie.com

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited March 28, 2006
    trihokie wrote:
    Does anyone have a crystal ball?
    Great topic, triokie thumb.gif

Personally, I *love* to read the newspaper. I thoroughly enjoy the quality photojournalism I see. Will newspapers, and still-photojournalism go away? I don't think so, not in our lifetime. But it's certainly a great time to improve our skills, doing everything and anything possible so that our images and work get chosen over the next photographer's deal.gif
  • Options
    trihokietrihokie Registered Users Posts: 78 Big grins
    edited March 28, 2006
    I agree with you Andy, I don't see printed media going away in our lifetime. But, just look at how fast technology has advanced in the past few years. I can remember the days when I connected to the internet through a 28.8 modem over the phone lines. Now, with cable, downloads are much faster and what will things be like in a few more years ne_nau.gif.