Options

Good all around lens for Nikon D50?

peestandinguppeestandingup Registered Users Posts: 489 Major grins
edited April 11, 2006 in Cameras
I am going DSLR. Thanks to the help from people here at dgrin, I have decided to get the D50 body & move away from "consumer" cameras, (but im still shopping around, so if anyone wants to get rid of theirs, lemme know). Now, im also looking for an all around lens to go with it. Im interested in a lens that has a decent zoom, but can also do macro, that doesnt cost a small fortune. Is there such a thing?? It doesnt have to be mind blowing professional quality, but I still want good results.

Also, since I have been using nothing but point & shoots, im used to optical zooms reading like this: "3x, 6x, 12x" etc. Is there some kind of comparison chart for DSLRs and their "55mm" etc readings?? I heard that 55mm is comparative to a 4x optical zoom on point & shoots.

Sorry, but I am VERY new to the world of DSLR & there are soo many choices. Thanks...Kerry

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited April 6, 2006
    My km A2 has a 7X optical zoom...that is a 28 - 200..now a 55 would be approx equiv to a 85mm lens of a 35mm film camera.....I believe taht the D50 has a 1.5 crop factor...which means to get the equivalency of a 35mm lens you multiply the lens focal length by 1.5......so 55mm X 1.5 = 85mm.....by doing this you can see that if you want the equiv of a 28mm lens you need to purchase an 18 to have the same focal length.

here is a nice range also 28 - 200 on ebay......link:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Tamron-28-200mm-XR-Macro-Lens-f-Nikon-AF-D-D70s-D50-NEW_W0QQitemZ7605494626QQcategoryZ106863QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Hopes this helps
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

• Options