Options

Challenge 22: Lonely Neighborhood

aero-nutaero-nut Registered Users Posts: 693 Major grins
edited September 28, 2004 in The Dgrin Challenges
This is my first attempt at a contest photo with my new camera. It was attempt at showing a cozy little neighborhood that seems like it is "alone" in the desert. I don't know if it is contest material, so any input would be appriciated.

8861325-M.jpg

Comments

• Options
    PerezDesignGroupPerezDesignGroup Registered Users Posts: 395 Major grins
    edited September 22, 2004
    Nice shot. I definitely get the idea of a lonely town from the pic. I have one recommendation. Try to avoid putting Horizons right smack dab in the center of a picture. It tends to make it a bit dry. The best place to put a horizon is in the top or bottom 1/3 of the frame. This is called the Golden Rule. Confused? If so, check out this link and read through it...

http://asp.photo.free.fr/Composition/photoProgramCompClass23.shtml
    Canon Digital Rebel | Canon EOS 35mm | Yashica Electro GSN | Fed5B | Holga 35 MF

• Options
    ginger_55ginger_55 Registered Users Posts: 8,416 Major grins
    Nice shot. I definitely get the idea of a lonely town from the pic. I have one recommendation. Try to avoid putting Horizons right smack dab in the center of a picture. It tends to make it a bit dry. The best place to put a horizon is in the top or bottom 1/3 of the frame. This is called the Golden Rule. Confused? If so, check out this link and read through it...

http://asp.photo.free.fr/Composition/photoProgramCompClass23.shtml

I like the "lonely town", too.

I have one more suggestion, perhaps. Unless it is my monitor, the shot appears a bit dark.

Could you open it up a bit, particularly putting emphasis on the small town. Or perhaps brighter and a bit of contrast, I don't know what, but I am having trouble seeing the details of the town, to any degree.

gingerthumb.gif
    After all is said and done, it is the sweet tea.
  • Options