Nikon D50

Zoom RaiderZoom Raider Registered Users Posts: 317 Major grins
edited April 8, 2006 in Cameras
I'm thinking of buying the D/SLR Nikon D50 in addition to the Nikon N75 that I already have, (since I also like F/SLRs). So I was wondering how good the D50 is. WalMart has it for $699 with a Nikkor 18-55mm lens, Wolf Camera has it for $599 with the same lens, but without the lens (at Wolf), it's $549

I figure you guys have such high quality pictures in this forum,`cos your SLRs cost $800 and up. So would this D50 do as well of a job as the ones you guys have? I surely hope so!

And, I've heard this D50 will almost double the power of a lens, that if I connect my (generic Sigma) 70-300mm lens, it will become like 105-420mm. Is this true? If so, all the more reason to buy this $549-$599 camera.:):

Just needed to know this things,`cos I'm still a beginner, reason being, I've had lil' or no time to learn anything about SLRs. So far, I can't seem to get pictures as sharp and vivid as the ones I see on here. Mine look great on photo, but on here, they look pretty fuzzy.:wxwax

Thanks!
http://mostamazingprophecies.com

My Gear
Camera: Nikon D50
Lens: Sigma 18-50mm F3.5-5.6 DC
Flash: Nikon SB600 SpeedLight
Vertical Powergrip: Opteka Platinum Series
Flash Diffuser: Lightsphere II (Clear)

Teleconverter: Quantaray 2x
Lens Filters: 2 SunPak UV 58mm

Card: Lexar Platinum II 512mb/60x
Bag: Canon 200DG

Printer: Canon PIXMA iP6700D

Fisher-Advent Audio

Comments

• cletuscletus Registered Users Posts: 1,930 Major grins
    edited April 7, 2006
    Hiya ZR wave.gif

A D50 (or any other Nikon dSLR) will effectively multiply the focal length of your lens by 1.5. Your 70-300 would act like a 140-450.

The D50 is a pretty neat camera because it takes great pictures, but to keep costs down Nikon just left out some of the features of the other dSLRs like the D70 & D70s.
  • HarrybHarryb Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 22,708 Major grins
    edited April 7, 2006