Canon 50mm differences

ScottsmadnessScottsmadness Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited April 29, 2006 in Cameras
Hi all,

Just wondering, what is the difference between the canon 50mm 1.4 and 50mm 1.8. I am thinking about getting one of the primes because they are affordable and tack sharp. It will be used on a 20D. Also, I am new to photography (read: not a professional) so, am I going to notice a huge difference between these lenses? Does one have a distict advantage over the other?

Scott :thumb

Comments

• cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited April 27, 2006
    Hi all,

Just wondering, what is the difference between the canon 50mm 1.4 and 50mm 1.8. I am thinking about getting one of the primes because they are affordable and tack sharp. It will be used on a 20D. Also, I am new to photography (read: not a professional) so, am I going to notice a huge difference between these lenses? Does one have a distict advantage over the other?

Scott thumb.gif

the 1.4 is USM and has a metal lens mount. Oh and it is a 1.4...brighter lens
  • Bob BellBob Bell Registered Users Posts: 598 Major grins
    edited April 27, 2006
    Hi all,

Scott thumb.gif

Well there are really 5 50mm's from Canon. The 1.8 model as 2 versions. The optics are very similar. The mk1 version has a metal mount and a distance scale. The mk2 has a plastic mount. This isn't really that important because of how light the lens is. I have had the mk1 since 1987 and I think its really nice. The mk1 is around $135 used and the mkII is around $75 new.

The 50/1.4 version has a little bit better build quality. It is the professional version I guess but it is only $300 or so. The 1.4 gives you more light inside. I also think it has better optics.

The 4th 50mm is a 50mm macro. This lens is in the $200 range. Is used for copy work and macro work. It is awesome with electronics and things like stamps or coins.