Options

Thinking of starting my own photo business

TristanPTristanP Registered Users Posts: 1,107 Major grins
edited May 2, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
I'm thinking about starting a small photography business in DE (sports and portrait stuff), just for some $ on the side. Do I need to form an LLC/S corp/whatever to make this work or can I work out of the house and just get a tax ID #? When buying equipment or services (I need a new PC and would use it a lot for Photoshop, plus the smugmug Pro account), do I need the tax ID already in place, or as long as it's there at tax time with the receipts, I'm good? Any good links I should know about? I'm a complete noob at this. I want to keep it as simple as possible, legal, and cover my a**. Thanks in advance.
panekfamily.smugmug.com (personal)
tristansphotography.com (motorsports)

Canon 20D | 10-22 | 17-85 IS | 50/1.4 | 70-300 IS | 100/2.8 macro
Sony F717 | Hoya R72

Comments

• Options
    SeefutlungSeefutlung Registered Users Posts: 2,781 Major grins
    edited April 28, 2006
    TristanP wrote:
    I'm thinking about starting a small photography business in DE (sports and portrait stuff), just for some $ on the side. Do I need to form an LLC/S corp/whatever to make this work or can I work out of the house and just get a tax ID #? When buying equipment or services (I need a new PC and would use it a lot for Photoshop, plus the smugmug Pro account), do I need the tax ID already in place, or as long as it's there at tax time with the receipts, I'm good? Any good links I should know about? I'm a complete noob at this. I want to keep it as simple as possible, legal, and cover my a**. Thanks in advance.

Don't know about DE but in CA, one always needs a Business License from the City you're working. In order to get the License you need a Federal tax ID#.
    My snaps can be found here:
    Unsharp at any Speed
  • Options
    Iron CreekIron Creek Registered Users Posts: 59 Big grins
    edited May 1, 2006