Options

Event/Sport shooter question

BodleyBodley Registered Users Posts: 766 Major grins
edited May 8, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
I've been shooting sports for several years. My model has been to shoot, cull, crop, process then upload the results. This is very time consuming and makes the the outcome "Less than Minimum Wage" (can the fed's arrest me since I pay myself below MW :rofl ).

I need help with a better workflow. Another photog suggested a different site where you upload your unprocessed shots and the host site contacts you with your orders. Then you process the requested photos and fill the orders. I originally chose my method because when I uploaded the shots I was finished. I want to stay with SM (mostly b/c of the customer support and Dgrin) but can't come up with a good model on SM except completed shots. Unfortunately, the completed shots I've been uploading could be better given more time to spend on them - I just don't have it.

I've got no time for my own family, but I don't want to quit shooting. Can someone help me? :dunno How are you guys doing it?
Greg
"Tis better keep your mouth shut and be thought of as an idiot than to open your mouth and remove all doubt"

Comments

• Options
    JeffroJeffro Registered Users Posts: 1,941 Major grins
    edited May 1, 2006
    Bodley wrote:
    I've got no time for my own family, but I don't want to quit shooting. Can someone help me? ne_nau.gif How are you guys doing it?

I've been shooting motocross for about 2 1/2 years now. I shoot jpeg large fine. I bump up the sharpness and saturation in camera...played around until I found what I like.

After a day at the track and a thousand plus photos later, I load them on the pc, look at each one full size. If I don't like it, it's gone. When I'm done I load the uncropped unphotoshopped file to SmugMug. If someone wants a 20x30 the file will support that, no problem. If they want an 8x10 they have choices, full image, or crop it themselves.