Options

Google Web Toolkit

DJ-S1DJ-S1 Registered Users Posts: 2,303 Major grins
I'm no programmer, but I remember reading (in Onethumb's Blog?) that AJAX was hot. I don't really know what AJAX is. :dunno But I just saw this about Google Web Toolkit, a new beta from Google which I guess translates Java code into AJAX? Or Javascript, or something?

Anyway, I'm just curious what you guys think of it. Could it be used to customize Smugmug sites? And would it make things easier for a novice? And can anyone explain (in layman's terms) how Java, Javascript, AJAX, CSS and HTML relate to each other and Smugmug customization? Cuz I have no clue, and I do eventually want to spruce up my site.

Sorry for the beginner questions! If this GWT thing is crap, just say so and I'll go away!

Comments

• Options
    bwgbwg Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 2,119 SmugMug Employee
    edited May 17, 2006
    that's funny. everyone is so hot on making javascript frameworks and google makes a java framework.....for javascript.

and to answer the question....no you wont be able to use it for smugmug sites.
    Pedal faster
  • Options
    edited May 17, 2006
    Oh well. I have a friend that knows Java, it would have been handy.

So (if I understand you) this is a way to use Java to write Javascript? And most folks are making "translators" to go from Javascript to other things?
  • Options
    edited May 17, 2006
    So I just wikipedia'd AJAX (duh, the J is for Javascript). Then I hit the link to Javascript and -duh- the first line says that Javascript is only distantly related to Java. So sorry for the -duh- moments, should have looked it up myself in the first place instead of bugging you folks.
  • Options
    devbobodevbobo Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,339 SmugMug Employee
    edited May 17, 2006
    DJ-S1 wrote: