Options

Butterfly/Moth (My first picture)

raianraian Registered Users Posts: 260 Major grins
edited May 19, 2006 in Wildlife
Okay, I'll admit I'm a bit nervous posting on this forum as I'm a real beginner and ya'll are not :wink However, I am here to look, listen, and learn. And I enjoy sharing pictures too.

I captured this little butterfly/moth out by my pool this morning. I was using my new Nikon D50 with the kit lens (Nikkor 18-55).

Any comments, critque appreciated. Thank you!

[img]http://home.earthlink.net/~agfreed/May182006 024.jpg[/img]

Comments

• Options
    ysr612ysr612 Registered Users Posts: 148 Major grins
    edited May 18, 2006
    looks like a buckeye to me great shot I love it.

that is a butterfly
  • Options
    HarrybHarryb Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 22,708 Major grins
    edited May 18, 2006
    Welocme to Dgrin cheerleader.gif Pretty good shot there. The comp would be more effective if your subject was not so centered.
    Harry
    http://behret.smugmug.com/ NANPA member
    How many photographers does it take to change a light bulb? 50. One to change the bulb, and forty-nine to say, "I could have done that better!"
  • Options
    edited May 18, 2006
    Thanks for the comments. I wasn't sure if it was a butterfly, and now I know! I agree it would be better not centered. These little things are very flity... I got several shots of them with wings up and folded closed. To have captured this one with his wings open was a joy.. I didn't have time to think about centering him :D I guess I can still crop!
  • Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited May 18, 2006
    raian wrote:
    Okay, I'll admit I'm a bit nervous posting on this forum as I'm a real beginner and ya'll are not mwink.gif However, I am here to look, listen, and learn. And I enjoy sharing pictures too.