Options

Ch 67: Lamina of stars

dgafphotodgafphoto Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
edited June 21, 2006 in The Dgrin Challenges
76553487-L.jpg
Shot this at 4am over the weekend. The combination of strong moonlight and +1ev in photoshop gave it a cool daytime look. I forgot my remote so I had to hold the shutter with my finger for 8 minutes to get this shot so pardon the slight tremor in the star trails. I should have posted here first before submitting my entry but this is my first time doing something like this so I am clueless. All C&C are welcome. I hope to enter more challenges in the future. Thanks in advance.

Nikon D70 @ 18mm, ISO 200, F/6.3, ~435sec

Comments

• Options
    AngeloAngelo Super Moderators Posts: 8,937 moderator
    edited June 21, 2006
    I bet you meant to say 8 seconds rather than 8 minutes... rolleyes1.gif

very nice shot!
  • Options
    edited June 21, 2006
    Angelo wrote:
    I bet you meant to say 8 seconds rather than 8 minutes... rolleyes1.gif

very nice shot!

nope.....i said it right. I had to hold the shutter for 8 minutes and yes it was painful. I will never travel without my remote again.
  • Options
    Head in the CloudsHead in the Clouds Registered Users Posts: 376 Major grins
    edited June 21, 2006
    Lovely shot! I bet that finger must be killing! ... going to go and search on ebay for a remote .... I think I 'need' one mwink.gif

Canon EOS 30D
    Sigma 10-20
    Canon 75-300 f4-5.6
    Canon 18-55
    Canon 50 f1.8
    Canon 430EX
  • Options
    AngeloAngelo Super Moderators Posts: 8,937 moderator
    edited June 21, 2006
    dgafphoto wrote:
    nope.....i said it right. I had to hold the shutter for 8 minutes and yes it was painful. I will never travel without my remote again.

Wow! What are you shooting with? Wouldn't the shutter simply remain open by itself based on your settings? ne_nau.gif

You must've used a tripod or set your camera on a solid surface, right?
  • Options