Options

Computer History measured by Trade Show buttons . . .

wholenewlightwholenewlight Registered Users Posts: 1,529 Major grins
edited June 25, 2006 in Holy Macro
Someone will be amused by this shot.

76846069-L.jpg

Cleaning a storage area of my basement tonight and found these.

I used to work for WordPerfect. They were the dominant word processor of the late 80's and early 90's. In the mid-90's, WordPerfect didn't recognize that MS Windows would soon be on everyone's computer. So they tried to be everything to everybody. DOS, Windows, OS/2, Mac, Unix, VAX, DG, Next - versions for all the available and potential operating systems.

They were unsuccessful in this effort. They missed the threat of Microsoft and Windows. And WordPerfect's Windows version wasn't very good. WordPerfect is still around but only as a shadow of their former self.

These are trade show buttons that I found in a box while cleaning the basement.

My favorite is "Sticking with DOS". Pretty funny . . . :D .

This shot is my photo-of-the day in the smugmug daily photos community. Be a part!
john w

I knew, of course, that trees and plants had roots, stems, bark, branches and foliage that reached up toward the light. But I was coming to realize that the real magician was light itself.
Edward Steichen

Comments

• Options
    DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited June 21, 2006
    My mom *loves* WordPerfect. She uses Word when she has to (which is usually), since everyone else is. But she says WP just works, and works sensibly. I don't know, I'm on a Mac.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,929 moderator
    edited June 21, 2006