Tripod recommendations?

jmathewjmathew Registered Users Posts: 75 Big grins
edited July 18, 2006 in Accessories
OK - finally getting out of the heat and going to Banff :clap in August!

It'd be nice to have a tripod I think - but Im NOT a pro...just need something that will do the job for a 20D and perhaps a 70-200 that I may borrow (else my 135 with a TC).

If its too heavy, I'm apt to not bring it along....if its too expensive, I'm apt to not buy it! Do I need a tripod or a monopod? Help!

Any suggestions would be appreciated!
Jefy Mathew

Comments

• wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
    edited July 14, 2006
    If you can't do it handheld, you can't do it with a monopod. A monopod is support for a heavy lens, not a tripod-lite.

Do a search, we have quite a few threads on tripods. thumb.gif
    Sid.
    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
    http://www.mcneel.com/users/jb/foghorn/ill_shut_up.au
  • Red BullRed Bull Registered Users Posts: 719 Major grins
    edited July 14, 2006
    I love my Gitzo Explorer 2220. Not sure if it's what you would want, though. Also, what's your budget? (The Gitzo 2220 cost about $300 total with shipping)
    -Steven

http://redbull.smugmug.com

"Money can't buy happiness...But it can buy expensive posessions that make other people envious, and that feels just as good.":D

Canon 20D, Canon 50 1.8 II, Canon 70-200 f/4L, Canon 17-40 f/4 L, Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro, Canon 430ex.
  • nwilkinsnwilkins Registered Users Posts: 117 Major grins
    edited July 15, 2006
    Feisol, Feisol, Feisolclap.gif
    Nancy Wilkins
    Canon 5D
    Canon 40D
  • jmathewjmathew Registered Users Posts: 75 Big grins
    edited July 15, 2006
    budget
    Red Bull wrote:
    I love my Gitzo Explorer 2220. Not sure if it's what you would want, though. Also, what's your budget? (The Gitzo 2220 cost about $300 total with shipping)

-was hoping for ~$150-200 at the most if possible