Options

First Photo Assignment

DigiEyEDigiEyE Registered Users Posts: 75 Big grins
edited August 2, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
I recently received my first job as a photographer for a promotion company in NYC. I have never done anything professional before this, only for hobby.
<o:p> </o:p>
My job entails going out to events and clubs, photographing patrons, the events, and the surroundings. The main focus however will really be portrait shots. All of this is done at night usually in dimly light surroundings (think clubs etc). I have to say even though I'm doing what I really enjoy, I am still very nervous about my first assignment. For some reason I have this fear I will mess up horribly. The other problem is the lighting. I have never really used a separate flash before, I have 2 of them that where given to me (Sakar 29 MD, and a Nikon Speedlight SB-50DX). The problem is they came with no instructions and I have no clue where to start with them?
Do you guys have any stories, lessons, information that I could learn from? Is it normal to be so nervous like this?
Sorry to ask so many questions I just felt this was the best place to ask. :scratch<o:p></o:p>

Comments

• Options
    JimMJimM Registered Users Posts: 1,389 Major grins
    edited July 19, 2006
    You might get a better response to this in the Accessories forum???

Anyway, what kind of camera do you have and does it have TTL?

If it does, put it on Program and use the TTL, you will be very pleased. A diffuser for the flash would be a good idea too. You can even just use a white notebook card pointed up or a cut off water bottle.
    Cameras: >(2) Canon 20D .Canon 20D/grip >Canon S200 (p&s)
    Glass: >Sigma 17-35mm,f2.8-4 DG >Tamron 28-75mm,f2.8 >Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro >Canon 70-200mm,f2.8L IS >Canon 200mm,f2.8L
    Flash: >550EX >Sigma EF-500 DG Super >studio strobes

Sites: Jim Mitte Photography - Livingston Sports Photos - Brighton Football Photos
  • Options