Options

Cake Photography--Please Help

B://B:// Registered Users Posts: 274 Major grins
edited September 20, 2006 in Technique
I'm doing some cake's shoots and I'm having problems with my composition, I have never done this before, any recomendations? I have three fluorescent lamps and what else do I need? do I use AV or TV or Manual?

Thank you :D

Byron M.
"... anger, frustration, deception, loneliness are its meal... don't feed him" - Donatto on Zeoneth

Comments

• Options
    JBurtJBurt Registered Users Posts: 175 Major grins
    edited August 6, 2006
    B:// wrote:
    I'm doing some cake's shoots and I'm having problems with my composition, I have never done this before, any recomendations? I have three fluorescent lamps and what else do I need? do I use AV or TV or Manual?

Thank you :D

Byron M.
    Experiment - experiment - experiment.
    And
    Read - read - read.
    You have a digital camera, all it will cost you is time.

You are trying to do things with no money, so, you will have to be really creative.

A light tent would probably be best and there are threads here on Dgrin discussing building your own. Do a search for light tent.

One lowcost light tent I recently read about was to turn a cardtable on its side and drape it with a white sheet.

Remember Google is your friend.
    Tis sometimes better to be a big fish in a small pond than to be shark bait.

http://jburtphotos.com
    http://jburtphotos.smugmug.com
    Basic but makin' changes
  • Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited August 6, 2006
    What qualities of the cake are you trying to illustrate? Shape? Texture? Color? Why are you shooting cake shots? What is it for? Do you need to be literal or are you trying to evoke a mood?
    Creator of Dgrin's "Last Photographer Standing" contest
    "Failure is feedback. And feedback is the breakfast of champions." - fortune cookie
  • Options