Options

Tamron NEW 18-200 image quality test

trogloditetroglodite Registered Users Posts: 130 Major grins
edited August 17, 2006 in Cameras
OK - I'm no proffessional lens tester but these are my results. All images here taken of a brick wall roughly 7 feet away, on a tripod, with a remote release with a mirror lockup for maximum sharpness. Canon 350D/Rebel XT 8mp and a nice heavy Bogen tripod.

My mistake is that it was a bit overcast but I had the white balance on daylight so... but I did this to inspect the sharpness and overall quality. I can still return/exchange it for another 20 days or so I wanted to see how it did.

Any input would be nice, I did this for myself but figure I wouls share my results.

Here we go!
I hope this helps!

IMG_3385.jpg

IMG_3386.jpg

IMG_3387.jpg

IMG_3388.jpg

IMG_3389.jpg

IMG_3390.jpg

IMG_3391.jpg

IMG_3392.jpg

IMG_3393.jpg

IMG_3394.jpg

IMG_3395.jpg

IMG_3396.jpg
is now gone. i have no time for cliques and fan clubs.

Comments

• Options
    limbiklimbik Registered Users Posts: 379 Major grins
    edited August 15, 2006
    The 1/3 and 1/4 shots look unusually blurry for such small apertures. At 4.5 and 5.6 it looks great, that is a good sign for the lens at least so far.
  • Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited August 15, 2006
    You don't indicate if these are center crops or corner. Even so, it appears the lens is really only useful between f/4.0 and about f/8.0. Larger aperature, it gets real soft. Smaller, it appears to suffer from diffraction issues. Even in it's "sweet" spot, it still seems a tad soft. I'm thinking I would be hugely dis-satisfied with this one.
  • Options
    edited August 15, 2006