Options

First time D-SLR recommendations?

RedhedRedhed Registered Users Posts: 56 Big grins
edited August 30, 2006 in Cameras
Hello all! I am a college student majoring in Photojournalism and I'm about to take my first PhotoJ class. I've decided to finally treat myself to a wonderful D-SLR but I have no clue which one to get. I've been looking at the Canon Rebel XT mostly, but should I wait for the XTi? Should I look at any other models?

I want a good camera, but I don't want to burn a hole in my bank account. I definitely want a Canon so I can rent out Canon accessories from my school. I have experience with point-and-shoot digitals, SLR-like digitals, and film SLRs. I would be using this camera mainly for school assignments and then probably get something nicer once I graduate. It doesn't need to be top-of-the-line, but I don't want something outdated either. Any ideas?

Anyone have an old Canon D-SLR up for sale?? I've been stalking eBay lately...should I look anywhere else for used or relatively cheap new cameras?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    claudermilkclaudermilk Registered Users Posts: 2,756 Major grins
    edited August 26, 2006
    It depends on whether the new features are important to you. I personally don't think going to 10MP is that great of an upgrade (same size sensor, so mallr pixels & more potential for noise; Canon's playing with fire there). The Rebels are considered a great start for DSLRs.

Other places to look: KEH has a lot of used equipment. Fred Miranda forums has a hyper-active Buy & Sell forum. B&H and Adorama have a used section (though much smaller than KEH).
  • Options
    GraphyFotozGraphyFotoz Registered Users Posts: 2,267 Major grins
    edited August 27, 2006