Options

Pricing Photography vs. Print Pricing

Brett MickelsonBrett Mickelson Registered Users Posts: 119 Major grins
edited August 31, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
I went out and bought "Pricing Photography," as reccomended, and I was quite disappointed.

First of all, it's a four year old book, which doesn't take into account the great strides made in digital photography in that time period. I'm considering returning it if there is going to be a new version anytime soon.

Second of all, at no point does it mention (at least not that I can find) GENERAL pricing information for prints...it sticks primarily to stock photography and assignment shooting. Fact is, the biggest question I have is what an appropriate print price for a site like this is. Do I sell for the same price I would sell at an event? Do I mark up weddings more than soccer tournaments? Is there a gold standard in the digital industry at this point?

I'm new to SmugMug, so I haven't customized my site or added prices I feel are apropriate yet, but I'd like to know more about this and I haven't found it in this book.

If anyone could give me some insight into print pricing (besides "you decide") and honest opinions as to whether or not this book still applies, I would appreciate it. Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    fotodojofotodojo Registered Users Posts: 231 Major grins
    edited August 27, 2006
    I went out and bought "Pricing Photography," as reccomended, and I was quite disappointed.

First of all, it's a four year old book, which doesn't take into account the great strides made in digital photography in that time period. I'm considering returning it if there is going to be a new version anytime soon.