Options

(got the) post-processing blues

sara505sara505 Registered Users Posts: 1,684 Major grins
edited September 9, 2006 in Finishing School
I used to be a good photographer. Then came digital, which I love--I have had my digital SLR for a couple of years, but have only spent the past six months rather diligantly trying to "master"--but wow, seems I am spending a ton of time post-processing, and I'm still confused about my results and about how much time I should actually be spending at my computer.

Basically, I shoot a job, say a family photo-shoot on the beach. Fine. But even when I have good light and good exposures, I still end up having to tweak the levels on almost every image, straighten a horizon or two, crop a few, and by then I have doubled the time I have spent on the job, or even tripled. And I'm not even talking about extraordinary measures, just run of the mill--make the pictures look pretty.

Then when I get the images looking good in Photoshop, in the case of today's effort, the Keough family, they look washed out in my Smug Mug Gallery. And I have simply moved the slider in Levels so it only approaches the mountain in the middle, trying not to over-do, staying well within the parameters I see before me--they even still look a little dark to my eye (all of my unedited images inititally look dark and lifeless), but the images look washed out in my gallery.

Please, could someone give me feed-back and tell me if this is the case?
Particularly as pertains to the gallery I posted today: the keough family (my Families galery at www.sarapiazza.com)(three wild little boys who never stopped moving for an hour and a half)

I am curious, how much time are people spending post-processing?