Options

What happens when an API post upload is interrupted?

ruttrutt Registered Users Posts: 6,511 Major grins
In testing my new script, I've had some experiences with interrupting it once it gets going doing the wrong thing. The result seems to be a partial photo on the gallery. What is supposed to happen when the client drops the connection in the middle of an upload.

I think that using the "old style" post (decoded from smugmug pages with some help from Don) the photo wouldn't show up unless the upload actually completed.

Or am I missing something?
If not now, when?

Comments

• Options
    onethumbonethumb Administrators Posts: 1,269 Major grins
    edited November 19, 2004
    rutt wrote:
    In testing my new script, I've had some experiences with interrupting it once it gets going doing the wrong thing. The result seems to be a partial photo on the gallery. What is supposed to happen when the client drops the connection in the middle of an upload.

I think that using the "old style" post (decoded from smugmug pages with some help from Don) the photo wouldn't show up unless the upload actually completed.

Or am I missing something?

All smugmug methods result in a partial photo being processed. Part of the problem is that it's not really easy to tell whether we received the entire photo or not, particularly because there are people who have corrupt photos that they really do want up on smugmug even in their corrupt state (it's all they have left).

So yes, this is expected behavior. It happens with all of our uploaders, and it's by design since I can't think of another way to allow corrupted JPGs through without also allowing partial uploads.

Don
  • Options
    edited November 19, 2004
    onethumb wrote:
    It happens with all of our uploaders, and it's by design since I can't think of another way to allow corrupted JPGs through without also allowing partial uploads.

Don